Please note the new deadline: May 24th, 1999.

Call For Papers
Fifth International Workshop
October 21-23, 1999
Miramonte Resort
Indian Wells, Palm Springs Desert, California

                                   Workshop Home Page:

MIS'99 is the fifth of a series of workshops which started in 1995 with the aim of fostering interdisciplinary discussions and research in all aspects of multimedia information systems. MISí99 will be held between October 21-23, 1999, at the Miramonte Resort, a mediterranean style resort hotel located at Indian Wells, in the Palm Springs Desert Resorts area. Palm Springs Desert is a popular resort destination in Southern California (about 130 miles east of Los Angeles).
MIS'99 follows upon the success of the four workshops in this series that were held in Arlington (VA), West Point (NY), Como (Italy) and Istanbul (Turkey). As in the past, this is a focused workshop, consisting of participants drawn from a wide variety of disciplines such as:
. databases,
. networks,
. operating systems,
. graphics and visualization,
. artificial intelligence,
. real-time systems,
. theory,
. algorithms, etc.
all of whom are engaged in research on one or more aspects of multimedia systems.
Authors are invited to submit extended abstracts (maximum 6 pages) or one-page descriptions of panel proposals by May 24, 1999. Selection will be based on originality and contribution to the field. Manuscripts must be in English, typed in double spaced format in 12 point font. Each extended abstract should have an extra cover page with name, title, and address (including e-mail address) of the contact author and an abstract of no more than 200 words. Each panel proposal should include a list of proposed panelists.
Electronic submissions are STRONGLY encouraged! Please send the postscript file of your short paper or panel proposal by May 24, 1999, to: . If electronic submission is not possible, please send six copies of the short paper or panel proposal to the following postal address:
Prof. Vassilis J. Tsotras
Dept. of Computer Science and Engineering
University of California
Riverside, CA 92521, USA
tel: 909-787-2888
fax: 909-787-4643
In addition to the workshop proceedings, selected submissions will be chosen by the Program Committee to be submitted as full papers of a special issue of a journal (to be announced later).
. May 24, 1999             Paper submission deadline
. June 30, 1999             Notification of results
. July 26, 1999              Final version of papers due
Dave Hislop                                 US Army Research Office
V.S. Subrahmanian                   University of Maryland
Satish K. Tripathi                     University of California, Riverside
Satish K. Tripathi                       University of California, Riverside
Leana Golubchik                          University of Maryland
Vassilis J. Tsotras                       University of California, Riverside
Charu C. Aggarwal                     IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Elisa Bertino                                 University of Milano
Bir Bhanu                                     University of California, Riverside
Alex Biliris                                    AT&T Laboratories
K. Selcuk Candan                        Arizona State University
H.W. Chan                                   University of Hong Kong
Stavros Christodoulakis                 Technical University of Crete
Alex Delis                                     Polytechnic University
Alexandros Eleftheriadis                Columbia University
Edward A. Fox                             Virginia Tech
Shahram Ghandeharizadeh             University of Southern California
Dave Hislop                                   US Army Research Office
Erik Hoel                                       Environmental Systems Research Institute
Kevin Jeffay                                   University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ibrahim Kamel                               Panasonic Research Laboratories
Ioannis Lambadaris                        Carleton University
Jorg Liebeherr                                University of Virginia
John C.S. Lui                                 The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Fillia Makedon                               Dartmouth College
Akifumi Makinouchi                       Kyushu University
Beng Chin Ooi                               National University of Singapore
Banu Ozden                                   Bell Laboratories
Meral Ozsoyoglu                            Case Western Reserve University
M. Tamer Ozsu                              University of Alberta
Krithi Ramamritham                        Umass-Amherst and IIT-Mumbai
Debanjan Saha                               IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Timos Sellis                                    National Technical University of Athens
Ozgur Ulusoy                                 Bilkent University
Gerhard Weikum                            University of the Saarland
Clement Yu                                    University of Illinois at Chicago
Philip S. Yu                                    IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Michelle Zhou                                 IBM T.J. Watson Research Center


Additional information about the workshop (hotel reservations, travel arrangements, etc.) will be posted at the workshop home page: